Who Am I?

You know that scene in the Breakfast Club where Brian is thinking about the essay he is supposed to write. He hooks his pen on his lip and he is saying “Who are you? Who are you? I am a walrus?” Well that’s how I felt as I contemplated what to write for this introduction.

[1]

When someone asks who you are what is it they want to know?

What do you do for a living? – I work as a librarian. Not what I had planned. The job sort of fell into my lap when I finished my undergrad degree and I needed a break and a change. That was 19 years ago. I do like my job and I’m pretty good at it (if I do say so myself) just wasn’t what I had set out to do oh so many years ago.

What about your family? I’m a fiancée to Jody, a stepmother to 2 teenagers (the boy child, 17 and the girl child, 15), a middle child, an aunt, a god-mother, a daughter, a friend and I have a large extended family full of aunts, uncles & cousins.

What are your hobbies? – I garden. I have flowers surrounding my house and several raised bed vegetable gardens. I’m crafty when the inspiration hits & I spend too much time on pinterest looking for said inspiration. I love to cook and try to make as much as possible from scratch – when time allows. And when I say from scratch I really mean it. I grind wheat to make fresh flour and Jody & I just started keeping bees this year for honey. Jody also got me involved in our local homebrew club. He does the brewing, not me, but I’m heavily involved in the club’s annual charity event. I also love to read but rarely have time so I mostly listen to books while I garden or cook.

Michelle's Garden

How did you become a ninja? Well that’s a long story probably best saved for another day & another post but I’ll give you the short version now. I’ve had weight issues for much of my life (real & in my head). I would diet and lose and gain it back. The usual yo yo cycle that so many of us have been on. In late 2012 something clicked that told me this was it & I was going to lose the weight once and for all for good. So I started keeping track of everything that went into my mouth and working out & I joined a fitness group on facebook that at one point had over 7,000 members. On New Years Eve 2012 a conversation started in that large fitness group that ended with just myself and 5 other amazing women. Well that’s not exactly true. That conversation never really ended and now it’s continuing here at Being Ninjas.

[1] photo borrowed from here

Leave a Reply

