I Like Piña Coladas and Getting Caught in the Rain…

I could go for one of these (and a beach) right about now...

I could go for one of these (and a beach) right about now… (photo credit 1)

Like NinjaEm so eloquently posted the other day, the whole “Tell me about yourself” statement can be tough for me. I often try to be funny and quote the ever-so-wise Jimmy Buffett Rupert Holmes* by saying, “I like piña coladas and getting caught in the rain”, which is true, but that wouldn’t really help you get to know the woman behind the NinjaMegan posts. So…

This is an old photo, but one of my favourites - plus my hair is almost back to this colour ;-)

This is an old photo, but one of my favourites – plus my hair is almost back to this colour 😉

I’m Megan, a SAHM and one of the resident foodie Ninjas. I’ve always been into food (I do believe I was the only 10 year old to be checking out Mastering the Art of French Cooking from our small town library) and culture (I have a degree in Anthropology from the University of British Columbia). As a result, I often like to explore cultures through their food – so I love to try out new recipes and foods and play with new cookbooks. Some are hits, some well, aren’t! 😉

My husband Greg & I ran the Walt Disney World Half Marathon this past January - I have a feeling it will be the first of many Disney races!

My husband Greg & I ran the Walt Disney World Half Marathon this past January – I have a feeling it will be the first of many Disney races!

When I’m not thinking about food, you can find me doing one of the following: reading, listening to NPR/CBC podcasts and music, watching classic movies, learning about essential oils and natural health, traveling to a Disney destination, drinking wine and running. However, I haven’t been drinking wine or running lately due to the fact that I’m pregnant with our second child, though I’m hoping to restart a light exercise plan now that I’ve been cleared to do so. I like to say that I’m a dabbler in different hobbies and interests – or a friend once eloquently called me a dilettante – which is probably reflective of the fact that I was diagnosed with ADD several years ago. While my ADD can be frustrating at times, I also believe it’s an incredible gift that’s blessed me with many positive aspects as well. So if you see me jumping around topics in my posts, now you know why! 😉

Me entirely too happy to get a CBC pin outside of CBC Vancouver (yep, I'm a big ol' nerd).

Me entirely too happy to get a CBC pin outside of CBC Vancouver (yep, I’m a big ol’ nerd).

Greg and I have been married for over 10 years now (we were high school sweethearts) and I can’t imagine being married to a better husband. We definitely balance each other out! We  live near Vancouver, BC, with Monkey, who’s 3 (& soon baby #2) and we’re pretty lucky to live here as Vancouver’s a beautiful part of the world, has great outdoor activities, a thriving arts community and an interesting and diverse food culture. So from me and my little part of the world, welcome to Being Ninjas!

Cheers!
Megan

photo credit 1: nettsu via photopin cc

*Edited to add: A wise (and much more knowledgable music-wise) significant other of one of the Ninjas just pointed out to me that it was Rupert Holmes who sang Escape, not Jimmy Buffett. I always thought it was Buffett – Mind = blown!

Leave a Reply

